Home > Uncategorized > Freakonomics » How to Become a Superhero (Or…Why I Would Never Donate to a Major Charity)

Freakonomics » How to Become a Superhero (Or…Why I Would Never Donate to a Major Charity)

I never donate a dime to a huge charity. The American Cancer Association might be a great charity. But what will my dollars do for them? Nothing. Warren Buffett and Bill Gates are spending $100 billion on eradicating cancer, AIDS, malaria. Other billions are fighting every major cause out there. The baby boomers are about to leave behind $9 trillion. Hopefully, a good chunk of that will go to charity. They can handle all of the major causes. My money will make zero difference.  And I have no way of doing due diligence on the charity so I won’t know how my dollars are being spent.

What I like to do is direct donations into what I call “micro-causes.”  Specifically, pick up the local paper and see who needs help RIGHT NOW, where a small amount of money can immediately make a significant difference in someone’s life. For instance, if the NY Post writes about a house burning down in Brooklyn and a now-homeless family — put them up in a hotel. Simple. Easy. Cheap. Makes their lives better while they deal with the loss of their home and all of their belongings. And probably nobody else thought of it.

via Freakonomics » How to Become a Superhero (Or…Why I Would Never Donate to a Major Charity).

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

